South Sudan Football Association

breaking news New

Atlabara FC to open against Tanzania’s KMC FC in CECAFA Kagame Cup

South Sudan League champions Atlabara FC will open their 2019 CECAFA Kagame Cup campaign against Tanzania’s KMC FC on July 7th at the Kigali Stadium.

The regional tournament partly sponsored by the President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame will run July 6-21st. A record sixteen teams including two guest sides from the Democratic Republic of Congo and one from Zambia will spice up the tournament.

Atlabara will return to action on July 9th against home side Rayon Sports FC before winding up with a game against former African champions TP Mazembe from DR Congo.

Nicholas Musonye, the Secretary general of the Council for East and Central African Football Associations (CECAFA) has said they expect a very competitive tournament this year.

“This Championship will give our Clubs chance to prepare well ahead of the forthcoming CAF Champions League and Confederation Cup games that start in August,” added Musonye.

According to the organisers two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the quarter finals. Tanzania’s Azam FC are the defending champions.

GROUP A: Rayon Sports (Rwanda), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), KMC (Tanzania), Atlabara (South Sudan) – Kigali

GROUP B: Azam (Tanzania) Mukura FC(Rwanda), Bandari (Kenya), KCCA FC (Uganda) – Huye

GROUP C: APR (Rwanda), Green Buffaloes (Zambia), Proline (Uganda), Heegan (Somalia) – Kigali

GROUP D: Gor Mahia (Kenya), DC Motema Pembe (DR Congo), KMKM ( Zanzibar), AS Ports (Djibouti) – Rubavu.