South Sudan Football Association

breaking news New

Egypt to host 2019 CAF Awards

The 2019 CAF Awards will take place at Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada on January 7th, 2020 in Egypt.

Two players from the Council of East and Central African Football (Cecafa) region Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania) and Denis Onyango (Uganda) have been nominated for the African Player of the Year Award.

On Sunday CAF released the list of nominees for the 28th edition of the Awards. The Awards will celebrate African footballers and officials who have distinguished themselves during 2019.

Striker Meddie Kagera who features for Simba SC in Tanzania has also been nominated for the African Interclubs Player of the Year, while Kenyan coach David Ouma is also nominated as African Women’s Coach of the Year.

Kenya’s national women’s team, Starlets are also nominated for the Award of African Women’s National Team of the Year together with  Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia.

The list of nominees is compiled by a panel of media and technical professionals. It features several award categories for men’s and women’s football including: African Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Goal of the Year, Africa Finest XI, Federation of the Year and several new award categories which will recognise exceptional contributions to African football and inspiring individuals.

The Interclubs Player of the Year Award has been reintroduced and will be dedicated to honouring key actors in CAF’s club competitions, Federation Presidents including South Sudan’s Francis Amin Michael are also expected to attend the Awards.