South Sudan Football Association

breaking news New

2019 CAF AWARDS: Senegal’s star Mane crowned Africa’s Best Player

Sadio Mane and Asisat Oshola have been crowned as African Player of the Year and African Women’s Player of the Year at the CAF Awards 2019 held at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh Resort in Hurghada, Egypt on Tuesday night.

The Senegal and Liverpool forward collected 477 votes ahead of his Liverpool teammate Mohamd Salah, 325 votes and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez, 267 votes.

President of the South Sudan Football Association (SSFA), also the Vice President of the Council of East and Central African Football Associations (CECAFA), Francis Amin Michael together with other FA Presidents also graced the colourful ceremony.

“This is a very special day for me because it has always been my target to be Africa’s best footballer and win this Award,” said Mane after receiving the gong from CAF President Ahmad Ahmad.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino and his Secretary General Fatma Samoura and CAF Executive members also graced the colourful ceremony.

Youcef Belaili won the prize of Inter Club’s Best Player of the Year for helping Esperance win the CAF Champions League.

The Youth Player of the Year award went to Moroccan Achraf Hakimi whilst Djamel Belmadi and Desiree Ellis picked the Coach of the Year male and female respectively.

Former African and Cameroon legend Samuel Eto’o partnered Egyptian Mariam Amin as presenters of the ceremony and was assisted by Moroccan Fayrouz Al Karawani.

Award Winners

African Player of the Year

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

African Interclubs Player of the Year

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

African Men’s Coach of the Year

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)

African Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

African Men’s National Team of the Year


African Women’s National Team of the Year


Federation of the Year

Egyptian Football Association

Special Award

Kojovi Obilale (former Togolese goalkeeper)

CAF-Fifpro Best XI

Goalkeeper: Andre Onana

Defenders: Achraf Hakimi, Serge Aurier, Joel Matip, Kalidou Koulibaly

Midfielders: Idrissa Gueye, Riyad Mahrez, Hakim Ziyech

Forwards: Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang